The Vegan Omnivore – Corn Salsa & Lamb Sausage Tacos

I’m LOVING fresh corn on the cob right now and was super excited when last weeks CSA box included 4 ears! I promptly concocted a quick corn salsa recipe without really knowing what I would do with it in the end. But, looking through my fridge I found two Lamb Sausages, a carton of greek yogurt and some corn tortillas. PERFECTO! Corn Salsa & Lamb Sausage Tacos were born! The sweet corn and tart lamb sausage were a PERFECT combination – I added the yogurt to add a bit of creamy texture to the dish. This recipe is clearly not vegan but easily could be if one used vegan sausages and sour cream in place of the lamb sausages and yogurt. I prefer the Apple Sage Field Roast Sausages – they’re my fave vegan sausage! I did not have these on hand however, and tend to use what is in my fridge and pantry whenever possible instead of running to the store for just one or two items.

CORN SALSA

2 ears corn – blanched & kernels removed from cob

4 fresh basil leaves – shredded

1 heirloom tomato – diced

salt and pepper to taste

1 tsp lemon zest (1/2 lemon)

squeeze of 1/2 lemon

2 tbs Parmesan cheese – grated (optional)

Blanche ears of corn in a large pot of boiling water just until they turn bright yellow. Using a knife cut down against the corn to remove the kernals from the cob. Place in a mixing bowl and add the rest of the ingredients and combine. Salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese on top as a garnish if desired. SIMPLE!

This was the perfect fresh summery lunch – exactly what I was looking for! I can’t wait to make this simple dish again with the corn that is coming in tomorrow’s CSA box. I just browned the sausages as the pot of water was coming to a boil and browned the tortillas on my gas stove top (if you do this – be sure to keep an eye on them – they burn easily). The tacos basically built themselves from there!

The corn salsa would also be perfect as a side dish at a summer BBQ,  mixed into farfalle pasta with the yogurt to make a simple pasta salad, used as an ingredient in a falafel pita sandwich and more! There are so many ways to use this simple dish – and I was able to prepare it in very little time – 15 minutes tops!

Enjoy it!

-Graceface

Leave a Reply

