My Weekly CSA Box – Weekly Menu Ideas

I’ve been trying to decide what the best way to feature my CSA box on the blog would be and I think its come to me. Instead of attempting to do some convoluted and involved post, I am simply going to post a couple photos of the box and what came in it. Then I will discuss some menu ideas I have for using the box’s contents along with some random weekly posts with recipes and photos of what actually ended up being prepared.

I believe in Farm Shares and buying food locally – the challenge is in not choosing your own veggies and having to concoct recipes and meals based around what is handed to you. There are a lot of options out there offering ideas, but I would like to help create a place for documenting exactly what I do with the box and how I use its contents with minimal waste. Especially when it comes to those random and foreign ingredients like Parsnips and Kohlrabi. How do I handle using fruits and veggies that I am not familiar with? You’ll find out here and I’m super excited to share with you!

Last weeks box yielded many meals (with even more to come):

Apricot Pie/Galette

Lemon Dilled & Grilled Summer Squash & Onions

Green Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing

Roasted Beet and Goat Cheese Tart

Carrot Pasta

…and I still have to use the last of the beets, carrots, broccoli, tomatoes and pluots before my next delivery on Thursday! I think this week I will make a big batch of Borscht with the leftover beets, tomatoes and carrots from last week’s box and tonight will be roasted broccoli with goat cheese and pasta and I’ll probably cut up the last of the pluots to eat with greek yogurt and honey for breakfast – they are JUST ripe enough!

So welcome to my new feature! Thursday I will post the first photos from my CSA box and the beginning of my weekly menu ideas. Until then!

-Graceface

Photo from Farm Fresh To You – My local CSA box provider

Leave a Reply

