CineStyle – Pretty In Pink

Hey now! I had so much fun with last week’s CineStyle post that I had to make do another one! Please forgive me if this its too soon, I don’t want to bore you with all this movie style awesomeness! Last week I featured my favorite film The Royal Tenenbaums but this week I’m looking all the way back to the 80’s for some style inspiration! All the way back to another of my favorites – Pretty In Pink. I saw this film in the theater in 4th or 5th grade for my friend Laura’s B-Day and it had a HUGE affect on my personal style. I was one of those lone weird girls that identified with Duckie – not only did I find him extremely foxy, but I wanted to BE him. I loved the funky punkiness of his style! But the main character Andie had her own amazing vintage inspired funkiness too! I was in looooove with the two of them and was heartbroken at the end when Andie eventually ends up with the WRONG MAN.

I digress. The film has amazing 80’s style. From the rich and preppy Steff, to quirky chameleon Iona. The film has a little bit of everything! Wanna see how I interpret each character’s style in a modern way? Follow me…

Andie – Oh what a sweet and funky (am I using that word too often?) style this girl has! She is such an individual. I’ve recreated her look below by including 80’s staples such as the fedora and blazer and injected some very “Andie” details such as lots of PINK and roses.I’ve modernized the look with the amazing pink platform booties and a white maxi skirt yet kept the vintage feel with the amazing embroidered shawl and cameo brooch. Any combination of the items would look fantastic together and so “Andie”.

Andie

Andie by Rosemaryx featuring a jumper sweater

Blane – For how preppy Blane is, he really knows how to relax and go with the flow (unless of course Steff is around). I wanted to show a look that was preppy and yet relaxed and something I would actually wear myself. Since I’m not really preppy at all this was a bit of a challenge but bear with me. Everyone can wear simple oversized tees, blazers and button up shirts and the ones below compliment the colors and textures of Blane’s style perfectly. Creamy colors in Jersey and Linen reflect his relaxed attitude and sky blue looks to his ever present chambray shirt. Chambray is so relaxed and cool! But just to give it enough stuffiness to really express Blane’s true personality I added loafers and chinos in very feminine styles. Remember, I want to wear this stuff! I then added a very formal-esque pairing with the tuxedo shorts and top, large bowtie, knee high socks and b/w wingtips. The skull cufflinks are my own little bit of style seeping into this look! I pretty much want everything in this look…now!

Blane

Blane by Rosemaryx featuring lace flat shoes

Duckie – Duckie, how I love you. This was my favorite look to create because I always wanted to look just like Duckie when I was younger. Bolo ties, rolled sleeve blazers, glittery shoes, vests for layering, round sunglasses, creepers, funky prints, and very 80’s vintage inspired brooches. It’s ALL here!

Duckie

Duckie by Rosemaryx featuring brogue shoes

Steff – Boo Hiss, man I hated Steff. What an a**wipe. Regardless of the man’s attitude, he had 80’s preppy down perfectly. I started recreating his style by sticking to the basics: aviators, chambray blazer, white pants, a colorful button up,  wingtips, a white tuxedo jacket and a very pricey Rolex. Then I threw in a softer look with the chambray dress, polka dot tights and white knee high socks and heeled wingtips. The look is very modern preppy, yet it is clearly inspired by Steff.

Steff

Steff by Rosemaryx featuring a boyfriend blazer

Iona – This lady is amazing! Always changing her style by the way she feels each day – she is a style chameleon. I had a lot of fun putting this set together since she has so many looks in the film. 60’s – with a full on beehive. 80’s with a stark white bob wig and geometric wiggle dress. 40’s – oh the dress and pillbox hat she wore in the film were amazing and I tried my best to recreate them! 70’s  – Punk! and full on 80’s preppy at the end of the film. What fun!

Iona

Iona by Rosemaryx featuring a freshwater pearl necklace

Once again, this was so much fun to put together. Please let me know if you have any requests for future features. I have the next on in the works – want a hint? ok ok…it is a 50’s film about ballet and some people say the Black Swan was inspired by it and it’s one of my top 5 favorite films of all time – it’s also based on a story by Hans Christian Anderson.  Know what it is?

One last thing! I’m DJing tonight! It’s 80’s vs 90’s. Can you tell which side I’m on?
Until next time!

-Graceface

Leave a Reply

