Recipe: Meatballs!

Yesterday was just fantastic. We went to the Thai Brunch in Berkeley and the Flea Market and then while Pat was at band practice I did a little cooking! I made meatballs and tomato sauce. Take a look at how I did it!

They were so yummy and I can’t wait to eat the leftovers up for lunch! I served them with whole wheat angel hair pasta and it was so good!

I adapted the recipe from a Martha Stewart Everyday Food magazine I have laying around. Every time I make something from any Martha resource it comes out perfect! Even when I take huge liberties with the recipe like I did this time around.  First of all I doubled the recipe and used different seasoning. I also removed the garlic because I didn’t have any. However, I kept the proportions about the same. For my recipe see below, for Martha’s recipe click here.

Ingredients

  • 2 large eggs
  • salt and ground pepper
  • 1/2 large onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 green pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 cup plain dried breadcrumbs
  • 3/4 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for serving
  • 1 pound ground pork
  • 1 pound ground lean beef
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp sage
  • 1 tsp celery seed
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 can (28 ounces) diced tomatoes
  • 3 Tbs Sriracha hot sauce
  • 2 Tbs honey
  • Whole wheat angel hair pasta

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together egg, 1/4 cup water, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Stir in half the onion and the green pepper. Add breadcrumbs, cheese, pork, beef, 1/2 teaspoon sage, 1/2 teaspoon thyme and celery seed. Mash with fingers. Form into balls and set aside on a plate.
  2. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Add half the meatballs; brown on all sides, 4 to 6 minutes. Transfer to a plate with a slotted spoon. Cook remaining meatballs in remaining tablespoon oil; remove meatballs.
  3. Add remaining onion; cook over medium-low until soft, about 5 minutes. Add the remainder of spices and cook 30 seconds. Season with salt and pepper. Stir in tomatoes and 3/4 cup water. Blend sauce in small batches in a food processor until slightly chunky and add sauce to a large soup pot. Add meatballs; cover, and simmer until cooked through, about 20 minutes. Remove meatballs.
  4. Meanwhile, in a large pot of boiling salted water, cook spaghetti according to package direction until al dente. Drain; return to pot. Toss with sauce; serve meatballs on top, sprinkled with more cheese.

-Graceface

Leave a Reply

