New Year Goals – 2011

Do you love lists like I do? I’m a huge fan of lists and simply can’t help but be inspired all the time to create list after list. So, of course I had to create a list of goals for 2011 right? Are you with me? Here are a few of my goals, take a look and maybe you’ll be inspired to share yours as well. I’d love to read them!

1 – Create a Comfortable Home with Pat

Pat and I would love to move into a home of our own this year. I love my roommates but it would be so nice and sweet if it were just the two of us and the fat cat. Just thinking about it makes me giddy! I can just picture how cozy and nice it will be – I’ll paint the walls, hang artwork, cook all the time and paint. It will be so relaxing – i might even be able to take baths – living with 3 boys has basically made me a little wary of immersing myself in our tub – no matter how well I clean it!

2 – Start my Etsy Shop to Sell Vintage and Handmade Items

This is a major goal for me and is something I’ve said I was going to put energy into every week for the last few months. For some reason I just haven’t had the energy to attack the photos and listings and really to just figure out how the whole Etsy system really works. I’m going to motivate though and really attack this in the coming weeks! I have so many adorable vintage items waiting to be listed and I know you all want to see what I’ve been hording!

3 – Work on Finding My Blogging Niche

This is actually well under way. I’ve really spent the last few days delving into Elsie’s Blog Love E-Course and I’ve got a ton of ideas and am inspired to really turn this here blog into something I love and cherish. So look out for a few new features and maybe even a blog redesign in the near future. I’m ready to focus!

4 – Define My Personal Style

I’ll be posting more about this next week, but the gist of it is that I’m overhauling my entire wardrobe. I need to take a look at what I have and what I actually want to be wearing and decide what to keep and what to give away or sell. Then I am going to spend the next year really focusing on defining my own personal style. I won’t be creating a new style, just defining the one I already have and purging all the excess in my wardrobe that creates confusion. I can’t wait to get started and to share my style defining journey with you!

5 – Start a family

Yeah you heard me right. 😉

6 – Learn How to be a Better Photographer

I desperately want a DSLR. BUT I really don’t know how to use one. So I’m really going to focus on learning how to take better photos as well as learn more Photoshop techniques to enhance the quality of photos I use on this blog as well as for my own personal use and journal/art making. I just need a camera!

7 – Cook More

This is an easy one. I just need to shop better and more often. Pat and I used to cook together all the time but once we moved in together several months ago the cooking basically stopped. It shouldn’t be too hard to pick back up and start to cook. Especially now that I have new pie pans, Cuisinart food processor and stick blender! Expect some amazing pie and soup recipes in the future!

8 – Take a Real Vacation

Yeah right. We are going to Ohio in late January to visit my family and friends there but I would really love a real vacation. You know, just the two of us in a cabin in the mountains or at a beach resort in Hawaii. What I think is realistic is that this Spring we will be going camping with our friends Megan and Jon. Very exciting! I ❤ camping and nature.

9 – Create Beauty

More art making. More sewing. More paper crafts. I need to make make make. Decorate my house. Wear beautiful clothes. etc. etc. etc. You get the drift.

10 – Spend More Time With My Loved Ones

Thanks god I’m going home to Ohio later this month! I miss my family and friends so much and it will be amazing to get to spend a week with them. I also would love to spend more quality time with Pat and my friends here in the Bay area. A few moths ago I really stopped partying so much and have been staying in a lot more. This has created a distance from some of my loved ones that I don’t like and I simply need to make more time to see them. Doesn’t mean going to the bar, it could be dinner, coffee, movies or even the park. There are so many ways that I could be spending time with them. I better get on that!

BONUS GOAL – Continue to Lesson My Destructive Behavior

This is a biggie actually and I simply can’t leave it off of this list. This year has marked a huge positive change for me. I drink less and spend less money – resulting in a healthier and happier Grace. Yay me! Keep it up! I can do it!

Thanks for ready my goals for 2011. Have you made a list for 2011? I would love to see it!

-Graceface

6 responses to “New Year Goals – 2011

  1. Good list, thanks for sharing. After catching up on my fave blogs I feel inspired to capture some of my intention for the year. There will be no mention of “losing weight”! I much prefer things that contribute to overall positive lifestyle changes. Thanks for the inspiration:)

    • thank you so much! i also really try to focus more on ways to inspire myself to be a better me rather than specifics like, “losing weight”. I would rather simply eat healthier and try to make better choices than focus on something that to me is so negative. “lose weight” vs “eat healthy” or “cook more”. what sounds more positive and doable?

  2. Thank you so much for those links! I have been eating a lot of veggies, but I haven’t been doing very many reviews on them, because usually people know what they taste like.

    But anywho, I’ve got a question for you! What is the best thing about moving away from your home state? Just a random question to help you think! 🙂

    • excellent!

      hrm, the best thing about moving away i think is coming back with a renewed sense of respect and love for a place that got really stale and even frustrating at times. I love to visit now so much more than when i lived there.

  3. So I somehow just stumbled across your delectable blog… and I particularly LOVE this post! I think we have all the same goals for 2011 with the exception of numero 5… that kind of goals has certain pre-req’s. 🙂
    Thanks for posting! I love seeing women with a similar love for life, beauty and people!
    I would love any tips you may have for blog direction, I’m just getting my feet wet over here… 🙂
    Happy blogging!

    • Thank you for the lovely comment!

      I checked out your blog and it looks like you’re doing lovely. Your posts are thoughtful and a pleasure to read. I personally tend to pass by posts/blogs that contain scripture, but you don’t seem preachy. You are sharing something meaningful about yourself and that’s what will make your blog special! Keep up the good work – I’d love to chat more about blog direction some time. Definitely shoot me an email if you have any questions or just want to chat!

Leave a Reply

