Riot on the Page: 30 Years of Zines by Women

It’s about time Riot Grrrl’s get some LOVE for being a valuable part of our Social and Artistic History! For the book Modern Women: Women Artists at the Museum of Modern Art, MoMA‘s Gretchen Wagner, an assistant curator in the Department of Prints and Illustrated Books, has written an essay titled Riot on the Page: 30 Years of Zines by Women. I love knowing that something I was a part of, the zine scene of the 90’s, is represented and appreciated  by such a high brow entity like the MoMA! I know that there are a lot of people/ex-riot grrrl‘s who don’t agree with me on this point but it still makes me just a little bit giddy. Just a little bit! Ok ok…a lot! I love The MoMA and I love feeling like I’m a part of it (even just a tiny bit) even more!

Left to right: a) Kathleen Hanna, Billy Karren, Tobi Vail, Kathi Wilcox. Bikini Kill: Girl Power, no. 2. 1991. Photocopy; cover by Hanna; b) Kathleen Hanna, Billy Karren, Tobi Vail, Kathi Wilcox. Bikini Kill: A Color and Activity Book, no. 1. 1991. Photocopy; cover by Hanna; c) Molly Neuman, Allison Wolfe. Girl Germs, no. 5. c. 1993–94. Photocopy; cover by Miss Pussycat. All courtesy of The Museum of Modern Art Library, New York

You can watch a video of Gretchen talking about the Women’s Zine Movement here. I really love what she has to say about it!

Now I just need to find out if my own Riot Grrrl Zine – Girlwonder – is a part of the MoMA collection. That would make me BEYOND GIDDY!

PS. Let’s not forget about this online feature from the Experience Music Project in Seattle WA!

4 responses to “Riot on the Page: 30 Years of Zines by Women

  1. GAH this is so cool. I love low-profile zines like this kind. Makes me want to visit the moma!

  2. yeah i’m hoping next time i make it i’ll be able to attack their zine library!

  3. I love this soooo much!

    Corinne x

  4. Yeah, i remember seeing the EMP online feature and being a bit overwhelmed with excitement. The MoMA collection is exceptionally to me exciting though. It’s not that I think MoMA gives the movement validity, but i think its really a special thing for a museum of this caliber to acknowledge the social and artistic impact the scene had on us girls and women of the 90’s.

    have you seen this?
    http://www.90swoman.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

