A Big Change: A New Name

Hello there and welcome to Motley Stew!

I started this blog on a whim, with no fanfare or explanation, without even know what I would name it. I feel like I have a better grasp on what it is and where it is going and so I’ve done a simple overhaul. A name change!

And just so that you can get to know me and my motivation a little better:

I’m a lover of all things creative. Whether it be food, music, style, art, design, fashion, etc…I’m ALL OVER IT. I work in the music industry doing marketing and promotions and am an avid cook and baker, artist, and cyclist. I go to more concerts/shows than is healthy for my poor ears. I’m only just now starting to feel the effects of year after year of concert going – it’s not good.

This blog is my way of documenting the things that I love, covet, make and do. It’s part style blog, part lifestyle blog, art blog, music blog, and part cooking blog.

I’m a punk. I love vintage. I’m a foodie. And I ride my bike everywhere I go. It’s a hideous borrowed thing that will be replaced soon by my own little lovely lady of a bike. She’s a white and gold Matobacane that I’m working on at the moment. I crashed my old bike Pinky about 7 months ago and haven’t replaced her since. This is one project I can’t wait to share here. I’m looking forward to showing the process it takes me to get her to perfection.

The things I find myself attracted to are a motley mix – thus the name of the blog! I’m attracted to harsh, dark macabre things such as taxidermy, bones, punk and metal. But I am equally attracted to ephemeral sweet things such as sailboats, fluffy animals, lace and indie pop. I sometimes feel like I’m “all over the place” with no focus and part of the reason I started this blog was to unify my mind a little. To put all of my inspirations in one place so that I can see more clearly with it all in front of me.The hope is to end up with a cohesive style based on the things I already love and adore. I don’t want to change, I want to develop a solid groundwork to grow on.

I don’t know if anyone will read this or find it inspiring, though I would love for that to be true. This is a place that will be invaluable in helping me set the tone for all of my future projects.  And that, my friends, is enough for me.

-Grace

Leave a Reply

